Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This is a good TTT as it will help make me accountable for my goals for 2015.

Reading Goals

1. Finish Eleanor and Park. I loved Fangirl but I struggled through the first few chapters of E & P. I want to revisit it and actually finish it.

2. Read more books by Aussie Authors. I dedicated last July to Aussie authors and it was great.

3. Read more steampunk. I’ve read The Book of Days, which was pretty darn cool. Also the Infernal Devices which I enjoyed. I need more steampunk in my life.

Writing Goals

4. Write regularly. While writing everyday would be a dream, I’ll aim to write regularly each week and see how that goes.

5. Do writing exercises. I need to strengthen my prose muscles and that means reps, reps and more reps.

6. Be more diligent noting down ideas. I’ve become lax in this, especially when the ideas come to me at 3am. Turns out I will not remember those brilliant gems when I wake up later.

7. Blog weekly. Well, maybe fortnightly. Oh, and learn how to do .gifs. I really want some Buffy and Supernatural .gifs in my posts. I think that would improve things.

8. Finish and publish my blog post about ‘Strong Female Characters’. I’ve been working on this one for a while and just when I think it’s done, something else about females and stereotypes sets me off again.

Publishing Goals

9. Start approaching publishers. I’ve been dragging my feet on this because it seems a daunting task.

10. Start approaching agents. Again, I need to get my act into gear.

Do you have any reading/writing goals for 2015?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise!

  1. Have you read Ticker? It’s a steampunk novel that I’m about halfway through with. I’m loving it so far!! I think your goals are really sensible. You definitely made me consider adding in a goal about a weekly writing time. I always think I’m just going to do it, but it hasn’t worked so far. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Fangirl but thought Eleanor & Park was just okay. I haven’t read any steampunk yet, but I have a few on my TBR.

    Like

  3. Ok I can’t wait for your strong female characters post! I seem to have a habit of ranting about female characters in the books I read, would love to hear your opinion 🙂

    Good luck with your goals

    Like

  4. These are awesome goals, Fiona! I’ve heard so many great things about Fangirl, so I hope to read it this year. I don’t think I’ve ever read a steampunk book, but it seems like an interesting genre, so maybe this year I’ll try some steampunk books. One of my goals is to widen my reading horizons, so reading something new like steampunk should help with that. I want to write more regularly, too. My writing is pretty sporadic unless it’s writing for school. School is also one reason my writing is sporadic. I would also love to get more into writing exercises so that I can intentionally strengthen my prose. Ohmanohmanohman. Publishers. Agents. Scary. I hope to revise and edit three WIPs this year, and if I can completely edit one WIP and love it, I might start querying agents. It’s scary, though, and I’m not sure I’m ready to publish a book, what with school and all.

    Like

  5. Awesome goals here! 😀 You’re right, Fangirl was AMAZING and there have been so many wonderful reviews for E&P – I should really get around to reading that one, but there are just too many books on my TBR list, haha 😉

    Also, may I make a suggestion with #6? I keep my notebooks on my beside table, so that whenever I get those random 3 AM ideas all I need to do is reach over and jot them down and they’re there in the morning for me. It’s saved me many a lost idea – definitely worth a try if you’re struggling with that sort of thing! 🙂

    Like

    • Great idea for number #6. I’ve now got two notebooks next to my bed in case of any more midnight brilliance. Thank you. 🙂
      Fangirl was great wasn’t it? I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Hopefully I’ll get to E & P by the end of the year.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

