Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Although there are many fictional places I’d like to visit (Sunnydale, Middle Earth, Alagaesia to name a few), I’ve chosen to list real places that books have made me want to visit (or revisit).

1. Scotland – Outlander Series

Outlander

2. Tasmania – The Potato Factory

Courtenay’s vivid description of the Tasmanian landscape left me with high expectations. When I finally travelled to Tassie, the scenery was just as spectacular as I’d imagined.

n121570

3. New Zealand – The Lord of the Rings

Okay, so this is blurring the book/film boundaries but how great would it be to do a LOTR tour of New Zealand?

0395595118

4. Lyme Regis in Dorset, England – Remarkable Creatures

I would love to wander along the shore line and pretend that I was Mary Anning.

remarkable-creatures4

5. Prague – Daughter of Smoke and Bone

DOSAB_hbfront

6. New Orleans – Interview With the Vampire

interview20with20a20vampire1

7. Oxford, England – Discovery of Witches

So much history to see! And how wonderful would it be to visit the Bodleian Library?

A-Discovery-of-Witches-US

8. Venice – Othello

When travelling in Venice, it was easy for me to understand why Shakespeare set his play in this beautiful city.

9780140707076

9. Paris – Anna and the French Kiss

Though I travelled to Paris 15 years ago, reading this made me want to return and to live in the city of love.

AnnaFrenchKissSmall

10. Eden Valley, Australia – The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl

I’ve heard they have an amazing bakery.

19403811

So that’s my list. What about you? Do you have any places you would like to visit after reading about them?

9 thoughts on “Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

  1. Scotland (Outlander) was at the top of my list as well, and I wouldn’t say no to any of the places you list! I actually went on a LOTR tour while I was in New Zealand a few years ago. The tour itself was pretty lame, but New Zealand was so amazing!

    Like

      • Definitely! Instead, they drove us in a van to 3 locations where scenes were filmed and explained how they did it, showed us videos of those scenes, and stopped for tea and scones. We also stopped at a park and got to play with prop replicas (swords, helmets, etc). It would have been okay except it was ridiculously overpriced!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

