Do You Have a Book Guru?

Simon_Glücklich_Lesestunde_1889

Three years ago I found myself staring at my bookshelf when I realised that every novel had been re-read numerous times – it was time to shuffle myself off to the local independent book store. A helpful young shop assistant was given the brief of, ‘I like Kate Morton’s books, the Sookie Stackhouse Series, The Inheritance Cycle and *whisperers* Twilight. What do you recommend?’

The first books she recommended were Daughter of Smoke and Bone, a Discovery of Witches and one that had just been released called Divergent. Wow! And so began my reverence of my marvellous Book Guru’s advice. When she takes a book off the shelf and says, ‘Read this,’ I read it. And I love it.

Not once has she led me astray and given bad advice. Well, there were two books that I didn’t completely love BUT they did become my husband’s favourite two books ever, so I still count that as a win.

Regardless of the strange requests I throw at her (‘Can you recommend a NA/YA contemporary romance book about a girl with anxiety that is a blend of serious/funny?’), my Book Guru prevails. She introduced me to Veronica Roth, Lani Taylor, John Green, Lauren Oliver, and so many more.

Here’s my Guru’s list from the last three years:

DOSAB_hbfront A-Discovery-of-Witches-US divergent-cover 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Delirium_novel The Night Circus UK 6690798

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Passage* by Justin Cronin

shantaram download (1) download

 Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

Warm Bodies by Issac Marion

The Book Thief by Martin Zusak

9780143567592 1216201072634AM neil-gaiman-the-ocean-at-the-end-of-the-lane-book-cover

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Night Watch by Sergei Lukyanenko

The Ocean at the End of the Lane* by Neil Gaiman

WildAwake_final FANGIRL_CoverDec2012-725x1075 Girl with all the gufts

Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

Lost_and_found the-messenger

Lost and Found by Brooke Davis

The Messenger by Martin Zusak (Not yet read)

*Books that are now the Hubby’s favourites.

What about you – do you have a Book Guru? Is there someone whose literacy advice is always spot on?

Leave a Reply

