July – Awesome Aussie Authors Month

resized_Aussie Cover

 “Alone of all the races on earth, they seem to be free from the ‘Grass is Greener on the other side of the fence’ syndrome, and roundly proclaim that Australia is, in fact, the other side of that fence.”
Douglas Adams

It was at a writers’ festival last year where I was exposed to some of the wonderful talent we have not only in Australia, but in my home state of Queensland. It’s not long now until the festival rolls around again and this year I am determined to have a wider knowledge of those who make up the wonderful Australian literary landscape.

The first book I read this month was Fall For Me by KA Last. Last is an Australian author and I liked her book so much that it inspired me to spend the month reading work published only by Aussies.

I’ve read a few Aussie authors before: Bryce Courtenay, Kate Morten, Marianne de Pierres, Marcus Zusak to name a few, and I enjoyed their work immensely. However Australian authors only made up a small percentage of my overall reading list.

And so Awesome Aussie Authors Month was born. Here’s what made up my reading list for July:

17257322

Fall For Me K.A. Last

16163811

Kiya: Hope of the Pharaoh  Katie Hamstead

16119664

Life in Outer Space  Melissa Keil

Lost_and_found

Lost and Found  Brooke Davis

Kiya-2-m4 (1)

Kiya: Mother of a King Katie Hamstead

Sacrifice_Cover_eBook_Final_LR

Sacrifice by KA Last

The standard of stories by these awesome Aussie authors blew me away and I’m glad I set myself this challenge.

FMN1

Currently I’m reading Forget Me Not by Stacy Nash. I’m no longer exclusively reading Australian authors but I have a feeling they will make up a large part of my future reading list.

Regardless of where you live it’s easy to overlook the local authors and head straight for the latest blockbuster release. From now on I’d like to find room on shelves for both and I hope to encourage others to do the same.

One way that I’m doing that is through my school lunchtime YA book club who are reading Girl Saves Boy by Steph Bowe this term. Steph was only sixteen when she was first published – how fantastic is that? I’m hoping that the kids in the club are inspired by what a young Aussie author can accomplish.

Some other Aussie books on my TBR list include:

All This Could End   Steph Bowe

Big River Little Fish   Belinda Jeffrey

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl   Melissa Keil (September 2014)

The Messenger   Martin Zusak

Remember Me   Stacey Nash (October 2014)

Peacemaker   Marianne de Pierres

Peacemaker-144dpi   the-messenger bigriver200px

While a large portion of my favourite writers remain international authors, I am excited to continue on this journey of discovery.

What about you? Have you read many books by authors from your country/state/city? Is there any one I need to add to my Aussie TBR list?

3 thoughts on “July – Awesome Aussie Authors Month

  1. Those are some good looking books. As an Australian too (hi fives!) I would love to read more books by Australian writers. I just never know which ones are by them. Americans do seem to dominate my reading though. I should definitely make an effort to read more local writers. You have inspired me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise! | A Novel Indulgence

Leave a Reply

