Six Spectacular YA Series That Were Awesome to the End

Some YA series are fantastic reads – that is, until you get to the ending of the last book and find yourself throwing it across the room yelling, ‘Why, oh but why?’ As readers we invest time and often an irrational amount of emotion into these books so it’s nice to have them maintain their awesomeness right to the last page. Here are some series that in my opinion, remained kick-arse the entire way through.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

DOSAB_hbfront

The story of Karou is exquisitely written by Laini Taylor in this series of love, betrayal, monsters and angels as you’ve never experienced before.

Fire and Thorns Trilogy by Rae Carson

Girl-of-Fire-and-Thorns-UK

Rae Carson’s Fire and Thorns Trilogy will have you cheering and crying as you follow Princess Elisa’s journey from an awkward, spoilt royal to hero and champion of the people.

Graceling Realm (The Seven Kingdoms) by Kristin Cashore

graceling-realms-by-kristin-cashore

Rather than a trilogy, the three books in the Graceling Realm series are companion books. Together they weave a magical, dangerous and breathtaking world for the series’ heroines.

Fallen by Lauren Kate

fallen

Luce and Daniel’s struggle to be together spans centuries, continents and four books in Lauren Kate’s Fallen series. Theirs is an epic tale; one that will leave you exhausted but sated.

Legend by Marie Lu

9780142422076_p0_v4_s260x420

There are a lot of great dystopian series out there but Marie Lu’s Legend is one that really delivers. Life couldn’t be more different for military prodigy June, and street kid (and government enemy) Day. The frightening future world presented by Lu is one that is a very real possibility.

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Marr

This series is one that starts of well but gets even better as it goes on. The characters are multi-faceted and the different story arcs create worlds that weave together beautifully. The Wicked Lovely series is a faery tale of frighteningly cool proportions.

5 thoughts on “Six Spectacular YA Series That Were Awesome to the End

  1. LOVED the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and all of the Graceling books! I have yet to read the others you have listed but they are on my TBR list.

    Thanks for following my blog, btw!

    Like

    • ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ is so good! It’s possibly my favourite YA series – it’s certainly up there with ‘Graceling’ and ‘Throne of Glass’. And a thank-you to you also for the follow. 🙂

      Like

  2. And I’ve just maxed out my hold list at the library 😛

    The only one of these I’ve read is the Fire and Thorns trilogy, and Graceling’s been on my to-read list a while. Most of the others I’ve not heard of though, funnily enough, Fallen is one that I saw at the library a while ago and didn’t get out, and just the other day I was trying to remember what “that book” was called.

    And I’m glad to see a dystopia here. Pretty much all the YA trilogies I’ve read have disappointed in the third act (I haven’t even *finished* Allegiant yet), but Legend looks really good.

    Like

    • Hi Nicola 🙂 I completely agree – so many YA trilogies don’t keep the momentum (awesomeness) the entire way through. I have read Allegiant and even though I enjoyed the Divergent series, it didn’t make my list. Also notice the absence of the Hunger Games, Delirium and Under the Never Sky. I loved these series but the endings didn’t quite sit right with me.

      I hope some of the books on the list make it to your TBR shelf and that you enjoy them if you do read them.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Ten Authors I Own The Most Books From | Fiona Miller-Stevens

Leave a Reply

